Devotion

3 Joyful Scriptures For Week Three of Advent

advent3 w ljt

The second Fruit of the Spirit after Love is Joy.  A virtue way deeper than happiness could imagine being.  True joy comes from living for and in Christ.  God sent us his only Son so we could experience joy every day no matter what we have, or who we have lost in our lives.  Jesus brings us joy!

We light the candle of Joy for the third week of Advent.  “Joy to the World, the Lord has come!” My favorite line in that song is, “Let every heart prepare Him room”.  Let’s all prepare room in our hearts for Jesus this Christmas.  He is the reason for the season!

Fill your spirit with these three joyful pieces of scripture this week.

  1. Isaiah 12:6:  “Shout aloud and sing for Joy, people of Zion, for great is the Holy One of Israel among you.”
  2. James 1:2-4:  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.
  3. Habakkuk 3:17-18: “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord,I will be joyful in God my Savior.”

Heavenly Father, our joy does not come from earthly things, it comes from your son Jesus.  May we be filled with overflowing joy that is surrounded in our Savior, Jesus, this Advent Season.  Amen.

Tells us about a Bible Verse that fills you with Joy!  I’m giving away another gift card this week.  Just by leaving a comment you will be eligible for the give away. 

6 thoughts on “3 Joyful Scriptures For Week Three of Advent”

  1. “Yours, Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the majesty and the splendor, for everything in heaven and earth is yours. Yours, Lord, is the kingdom; you are exalted as head over all.”
    ‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬
    This verse fills me with joy because it assures me that God is Sovereign over everything!😊

    Like

  2. Selena, I love Jeremiah 29:11, but I am so glad you also included 12-14. When we seek God with our hearts, we allow him to draw us into the Son! Thanks so much for sharing. Have a blessed week!

    Like

  3. Jeremiah 29:11, For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to prosper and not to harm you plans to give you a hope and a future. This is my life verse and it has brought me not only Joy, because of the promise God gives us but also, hope.

    Like

Comments are closed.